Genesee County Clerk's Office
Marriage Application and Ceremony
900 South Saginaw Street
Flint, Michigan 48502
Marriage Office Hours:
Monday - Thursday - By Appointment ONLY
Friday - Building Closed
Holiday/Furlough Day Closures
NOTE: No weapons allowed in our building.
All visitors must pass through a metal detector.
All visitors are required to wear a mask while inside the building.
Applying to get Married - Special Rules Apply during pandemic
During the pandemic, applications will be accepted in person (by appointment), or by mailing documents to our office. Making application in person is the recommended method. The procedures and forms for applying in person and through the mail are different; therefore, please make sure to follow the correct information for your application type.
Michigan State Law dictates that in order to get married, application must be made in advance. For Michigan residents, application must be made in the county where the applicant lives and the ceremony can occur anywhere within the State of Michigan.
The laws of other states may differ from those in Michigan.
The marriage application fee is $20.00 which is due and payable at the time of application. If both applicants are out-of-state residents, an additional $10.00 fee is charged.
Making an appointment with our office:
- Marriage application will be made in person and the license will be provided at the time of application.
- The following documents must be presented at the time of application: 1) Completed Marriage Application Worksheet Click here for Form 2) Both parties Current Driver's License or State Issued Identification Card; if only one party is applying, we will accept a photocopy of the other party's ID 3) Birth certificates for both applicants. The birth certificates must be "long version", meaning that they contain the parent's full names; we do not accept hospital records or "short forms" that contain only the individual's name and date of birth. Foreign birth certificates must be translated into the English language. 4) Social Security Numbers for both parties
- NOTE: Passports do NOT replace the requirement for a birth certificate under any circumstance.
- Application forms are available by downloading the form. Click here for the form
- Application must be made not more than 30 days prior to the ceremony. Appointment times are limited so schedule in advance.
- Only one applicant need be present to apply.
- The applicant must be a Genesee County resident (Out-of-state residents - see requirements below).
- Michigan state law does allow for marriage by minor children ages 16 to 17 - See additional information below.
- Payment methods accepted at our counter: cash, money order, business check or credit/debit. If using credit/debit, an additional service fee is charged, and the cardholder must be present with ID. Personal check is accepted if: the name and address imprinted on the check matches the name and address of the customer. The customer must sign a personal check in our presence and provide valid photo ID. (Out of state personal checks are not accepted.)
- Click This Link To Schedule An Appointment: https://geneseecountymi.as.me/CountyClerkVitalRecordsElections
Applying by mail:
- The following documents must be mailed to our office along with the filing fee: 1) Completed Marriage Application Worksheet Click here for Form 2)Completed and Notarized Affidavit for License to Marry Click here for Form 3) Photocopies of both parties Current Driver's License or State Issued Identification Card 4) Photocopies of birth certificates for both applicants (during the pandemic our office is accepting photocopies to better assist customers). The birth certificates must be "long version", meaning that they contain the parent's full names. Foreign birth certificates must be translated into the English language. 5) Social Security numbers for both parties
- The mailing address is: Genesee County Clerk's Office, Marriage Desk, 900 South Saginaw Street, Flint, MI, 48502
- NOTE: Passports do NOT replace the requirement for a birth certificate under any circumstance.
- The $20 filing fee must made be paid by check or money order only.
- If both applicants are out-of-state residents, and the ceremony will be performed in Genesee County, there is an additional fee of $10.00.
- Read "Excerpts of Certain Michigan Laws" Click Here
- Applications will be processed in the order they are recevied regardless of ceremony date or method of mailing. Therfore, it is extremely important the applications be mailed to us a minimum of 2 weeks prior to the ceremony. We require a minimum of 4 business days (from the date of receipt) to process a marriage application received in the mail.
- Our office will verify the information contained on the Worksheet and Affidavit against the birth certifiates and IDs.
- After its review of the documents submitted, our office will create a blank marriage licenses and mail, via regular U.S. mail, two copies to the applicant listed on the left side of the Affidavit. Instructions on how to complete the marriage license at the ceremony will also be sent.
During the pandemic, our office is waiving the three-day waiting period for all applicants. Therefore, the marriage ceremony must take place within 30 days from the date of application or the license becomes void. It is the responsibility of the applicants to arrange for a date and location of their marriage ceremony as well as an officiate to perform the ceremony.
No marriage ceremony can be performed unless the officiate has the blank license in hand.
No marriage ceremony can be performed after the expiration date of a marriage license.
Both applicants are required to have their own separate witness at the ceremony. Witnesses must be a minimum of 18 years of age. ALL PARTIES must sign the marriage license at the time of the ceremony.
Michigan Compiled Law 551.7, as listed below, applies to individuals who perform marriage ceremonies:
(1) Marriages may be solemnized by any of the following:
- (a) A judge of the district court, anywhere in this state.
- (b) A district court magistrate, anywhere in this state.
- (c) A municipal judge, in the city in which the judge is serving or in a township over which a municipal court has jurisdiction under section 9928 of the revised judicature act of 1961, 1961 PA 236, MCL 600.9928.
- (d) A judge of probate, anywhere in this state.
- (e) A judge of a federal court.
- (f) A mayor of a city, anywhere in a county in which that city is located.
- (g) A county clerk (NOTE: The Genesee County Clerk does not perform ceremonies.)
- (h) In counties having more than 1,500,000 in population, by a county clerk employee (NOTE: This provision does not apply in Genesee County.)
- (i) A minister of the gospel or cleric or religious practitioner, anywhere in this state, if the minister or cleric or religious practitioner is ordained or authorized to solemnize marriages according to the usages of the denomination.
- (j) A minister of the gospel or cleric or religious practitioner, anywhere in this state, if the minister or cleric or religious practitioner is not a resident of this state but is authorized to solemnize marriages under the laws of the state in which the minister or cleric or religious practitioner resides.
(2) A person authorized by this act to solemnize a marriage shall keep proper records and return licenses and certificates as required.
Michigan State law does not require individuals who solemnize marriages to be registered with the county or the state.
Filing the Marriage License
After the ceremony occurs, it is the legal responsibility of the officiate (the person who performs the ceremony) to file the marriage license with our office. The license is NOT filed by the applicants. Instructions and an envelope for mailing the license will be provided to the applicant when they pick up the license. It is important that the instructions and envelope provided be given to the officiate for their use because they have a legal obligation to file the license. Use of our pre-printed envelope will speed the processing of the license when it is received in our office for filing. During the pandemic, licenses for filing MUST be mailed to our office. We do not accept appointments for the filing of licenses becuase appointment times are limited and need to be reserved for those who need to apply.
Obtaining Certified Copies of a Marriage License
A certified copy of a marriage license is necessary for many purposes, including changing names, medical insurance, property, benefits, etc. Following the ceremony, allow a minimum of two weeks before requesting copies of a newly filed marriage license. This gives the officiate time to properly file the license and for our office to get it entered into the database system. Information on how to obtain a certified copy of a marriage license can be found by visiting this link:
Out of State Residents
If both applicants live outside of the State of Michigan, they are considered out-of-state residents. All above provisions for application apply to out-of-state residents; additionally, the marriage ceremony must take place in Genesee County. Out-of-state residents must present valid identification for both applicants (a photocopy is acceptable for an applicant who is not present at the time of application). The current address for each applicant must be listed on the IDs presented. If one party lives outside of Michigan and one lives inside of Michigan, the Michigan resident applies in the county where they live.
Pursuant to MCL 551.103 "Every person who becomes 16 years of age but is less than 18 years of age shall be capable of contracting marriage with the written consent of 1 of the parents of the person or the person's legal guardian." In addition to all of the requirements listed above, the minor must be present at the time of application, the parent or legal guardian must be present at the time of application, both the minor and their parent/guardian must present a valid driver's license or photo identification card, and must sign a consent form. Legal guardian's must also present a certified copy of the guardianship order.