Genesee County Clerk's Office
Concealed Pistol License Application
900 S. Saginaw St.
Flint, Michigan 48502
Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.
NOTE: No cell phones or weapons allowed in our building.
All visitors must pass through a metal detector.
Effective June 29, 2020, our office will be allowing limited public access.
The limited access includes NEW applications for concealed pistol licenses.
Renewal applications must continue to be made online.
All visitors to our office will be by appointment only.
The link to schedule an appointment can be located below.
Link to Michigan State Police Concealed Pistol Web Site : This site contains detailed information on concealed pistol licenses in Michigan including the gun laws.
NOTE: While processing concealed pistol applications, our office accesses the Secretary of State (SOS) website. Due to regularly scheduled software maintenance at SOS, we are unable to access that software and, therefore, are unable to process concealed pistol licence applications (both new and renewal) between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 10:00 a.m. on the following dates:
|January 8||July 1|
|February 5||August 5|
|March 4||September 2|
|April 1||October 7|
|May 6||November 4|
|June 3||December 2|
$100 for a standard application
$115 for a renewal application
Payment methods accepted: cash, money order, business check or credit/debit. If using credit/debit, an additional service fee is charged, and the cardholder must be present with ID. Personal check is accepted if: the name and address imprinted on the check matches the name and address of the customer. The customer must sign a personal check in our presence and provide valid photo ID. (Out of state personal checks are not accepted.)
Application (Standard License) - $100
Application must be made in person at our office.
Applicant must be a resident of Genesee County.
At the time of application, applicant must provide: payment of filing fee, valid state issued photo identification card or driver’s license, a certificate proving they have trained in compliance with Section 5J of 1927 PA 372., and a completed application form. It is important that applicants read the instruction packet included with the application to familiarize themselves with requirements and procedures. Both the instruction packet and application can be obtained in person at our office or by downloading the form.
When an application is filed, our office provides the applicant with a receipt that authorizes the taking of fingerprints. It is the responsibility of the applicant to take the receipt to the Genesee County Sheriff's Office to begin the required criminal background checks.
There will be an additional charge of $15.00 for fingerprints payable at the Sheriff’s Office.
Renewal Application - $115 - MUST be made on line
Application to renew a CPL may be submitted to our office in person. At the time of application, applicant must provide: payment of filing fee, valid state issued photo identification card or driver’s license, and their current (or expired) CPL if available. It is important that applicants read the instruction packet included with the application to familiarize themselves with requirements and procedures. Both the instruction packet and application can be obtained in person at our office or by downloading the form.
Alternately, an application to renew a CPL may be submitted to the county clerk, through the CPL renewal website at www.michigan.gov/cplrenewal, or by first-class mail to the MSP, not more than six months before, nor one year after, the expiration of the current CPL. Please make check payable to “State of Michigan.” The mailing address is:
Michigan State Police
Attn: Concealed Pistol License Unit
P.O. Box 30634
Lansing, MI 48909
A CPL is valid until the applicant's date of birth that falls not less than four years or more than five years after the license is issued or renewed.
CPL holders will be notified that their license is approaching expiration by their county clerk between three to six months prior to the expiration of their current license.
Upon paying the renewal application and license fee of $115, the applicant will be issued a receipt. If renewed prior to expiration, this receipt, when carried with the expired license, shall serve as a valid CPL until the new license or notice of statutory disqualification is received. For the purposes of Michigan law, the receipt is considered to be part of the CPL until a renewal is issued or denied.
Possession of this receipt and expired CPL does not exempt the holder from the requirement to obtain a license to purchase a pistol or exempt a firearms dealer from running a background check prior to the sale of a pistol.
An application is considered a renewal if the applicant has previously received a CPL in compliance with the training requirements set forth in Michigan law effective July 1, 2001, and the previous license has not been expired more than one year.
An applicant applying for a renewal is not required to have fingerprints taken again if the applicant's fingerprints have been submitted to and are maintained by the MSP. Fingerprints have been maintained by the MSP since January 1, 2006.
The applicant shall sign the statement on the application certifying that he or she has completed at least three hours of review of the required training and has had at least one hour of firing range time in the six months immediately preceding the renewal application.
Obtaining the License
Following approval of an application, the Genesee County Clerk's Office will mail the license to the applicant via regular mail. If the application is denied, the applicant will receive a letter with the reason(s) for the denial.
A decision on applications will be made as listed below:
Standard Applications within 45 days
Renewal Applications within 30 days
Lost or Stolen Concealed Pistol License
When a CPL is lost or stolen, a duplicate license can be obtained in person at our office. The license holder must first obtain a new photo identification or driver’s license from the Secretary of State's Office. We do not accept the paper copy; we must see the newly issued ID with photo. The fee for a duplicate license is $10.