Alert Emergency Alert

City of Flint Emergency Declaration
Public Health Emergency Declaration

Read More

CRIMINAL DIVISION-CIRCUIT COURT

900 S. Saginaw St.

Flint, Michigan 48502
(810) 257-3232

Image: Courthouse Saginaw Street Entrance
 The Circuit Court-Criminal Division of the Prosecutor's   Office is housed  in the Genesee County Circuit Courthouse Building in downtown  Flint <click here for courthouse history> . The Division is headed by  Managing Assistant Prosecutor Richmond Riggs and is further  comprised of four assistant prosecutors and three administrative  support staff.

 

 


The Circuit Court is the highest trial court in Michigan. Image: Courthouse Beach Street Entrance
All felony trials are held in this court. A felony is a crime punishable by one year or more in a state prison or county jail. Felony charges are first handled in District Court then, if bound over, charges are handled in Circuit Court. Criminal Circuit Court proceedings begin with an arraignment which is a hearing at which the defendant is informed of the charges against him/her and bail is set by the Judge. At the arraignment, the Judge will also schedule a pre-trial conference and the trial. The pre-trial conference is a meeting between the prosecutor, the defense attorney and the Judge to determine if the case can be resolved without a trial.

 

CIRCUIT COURT CRIMINAL DIVISION
STAFF LISTING 

NAME

TITLE

TELEPHONE

EMAIL ADDRESS

Andrea Legendre Managing Assistant Prosecuting Attorney (810) 257-3232 alegendre@co.genesee.mi.us
Lia Clarkson Assistant Prosecuting Attorney (810) 257-3232 lclarkson@co.genesee.mi.us
Sara Coaster Assistant Prosecuting Attorney (810) 257-3232 scoaster@co.genesee.mi.us
Karen Hanson Assistant Prosecuting Attorney (810)257-3232 khanson@co.genesee.mi.us
Ashley Jenkins Assistant Prosecuting Attorney (810) 257-3232 ajenkins@co.genesee.mi.us
Anthony Maxwell Assistant Prosecuting Attorney (810) 257-3232 amaxwell@co.genesee.mi.us
Patrick McCombs Assistant Prosecuting Attorney (810) 257-3232 pmccombs@co.genesee.mi.us
Janet McLaren Special Assistant  Attorney General (810) 257-3232 jmclaren@co.genesee.mi.us
Michael Thomas Special Assistant Attorney General (810) 257-3232 mthomas@co.genesee.mi.us
Lori Matthews Paralegal (810) 257-3232 lmatthews@co.genesee.mi.us
Melissa Williams Paralegal (810) 257-3210 mwilliams@co.genesee.mi.us

Brenda Camp

  Secretary

(810)257- 3232

bcamp@co.genesee.mi.us

Jodi Ratynski   Secretary (810)257-3232 jratynski@co.genesee.mi.us  


The Historic Genesee County Courthouse
on Saginaw Street on a chilly winter evening.
Image: Courthouse Saginaw Street Entrance in Winter