Genesee County Clerk's Office
Assumed Name Certificates (DBA) and Co-partnership Certificates
900 South Saginaw Street
Flint, MI 48502
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday - 8:00 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.
NOTE: No cell phones or weapons allowed in our building. All visitors must pass through a metal detector.
Applying for and Renewing an Assumed Name
Pursuant to Act 101 of 1907, a person shall not carry on, conduct, or transact business in this state under an assumed name, or under a designation, name, or style other than the real name of the person, unless the person files a certificate with the county clerk on a form furnished by the county clerk. Persons must file a separate certificate in each county in which they conduct or intend to conduct business. Persons must file a separate certificate for each individual business name. When more than one business owner is involved, all business owners must sign the certificate.
Business owners may file for, or renew, an assumed name in person at our office or by downloading the DBA form. When filing in person, all business owners must be present and must provide valid photo identification; our office will provide all forms necessary at the time of application. If a form is downloaded from our website, it must be signed by all business owners (notarization required) and mailed to our office "Attention: Assumed Names" at the address listed above. Both new filings and renewal filings are made on the same application form.
Applying for and Renewing a Co-partnership Certificate
Pursuant to Act 164 of 1913, no two or more persons shall hereafter be engaged in carrying on any business as copartners unless such persons shall first make and file with the county clerk a certificate on a form provided by the county clerk. Co-partnership certificates are often filed by persons who have a signed contract which binds the responsibilities of the partners.
Co-partners may file for a certificate of co-partnership in person at our office or by downloading the CoPartnership form. When filing in person, all co-partners must be present and must provide valid photo identification; our office will provide all forms necessary at the time of application. If a form is downloaded from our website, it must be signed by all co-partners (notarization required) and mailed to our office "Attention: Assumed Names" at the address listed above. Both new filings and renewal filings are made on the same application form.
The cost to apply for an assumed name certificate or a co-partnership certificate is $10.00 which is due and payable at the time of application. When applying in person at our office, payment is accepted by cash, check, money order, or credit/debit. If using a personal check, it must be drawn on a local bank and the name and address imprinted on the check must match the name and address of the applicant. The applicant must sign the personal check in our presence. If using a credit/debit card, an additional service fee of $2.50 is charged for transactions that are less than $50.00. When applying by mail, payment must be made by money order or business check (no personal checks).
The filing of an assumed name certificate or a co-partnership certificate in no way constitutes licensure of any sort. Questions regarding licensure for businesses must be directed to the city or township in which the business is located and/or conducted.
To register for Michigan business taxes or obtain a Michigan Sales Tax License, please contact the Michigan Department of Treasury online at www.michigan.gov/treasury or by calling (517) 636-4730.
Corporations, Limited Partnerships, & Limited Liability Companies (INC, LLC, LLP, etc)
To obtain forms for registering as a corporation (Articles of Incorporation), limited partnerships or limited liability company, please contact the Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth, Corporations Division online at www.michigan.gov/cis, or by calling (517) 241-6470.
Corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, and limited liability corporations do not file at the local level. They must contact the State of Michigan as listed above.